The Kansas Legislature has declared 12 weeds as noxious. They are:

  • Musk thistle
  • Field bindweed
  • Canada thistle
  • Leafy spurge
  • Russian knapweed
  • Kudzu
  • Bur Ragweed
  • Quackgrass
  • Sericea lespedeza
  • Pignut
  • Johnsongrass
  • Hoary Cress

Two additional weeds are County optional, Multiflora Rose and Bull Thistle.

The Kansas Noxious Weed Law, KSA, Chapter 2, Article 13, requires all persons who own or supervise land in Kansas to control the spread of and to eradicate all weeds declared by legislative action to be noxious. Copies of the State Weed Law are available at the Noxious Weed Office.

KSA 2-1330 Entry upon and inspection of property. County commissioners, township boards, city officials and state, county and city weed supervisors shall have at all reasonable times, free access to enter upon premises and to inspect property, both real and personal, regardless of location, in connection with the administration of the state weed law.

Chemicals available at the Noxious Weed Office are for the treatment of noxious weeds only. All sales are final. When purchasing chemicals at the weed office, bring your checkbook or the exact amount of cash, we can not make change, the name of the owner, operator, applicator, legal description of the land, name of weed to be treated, per acre amount of application.

These chemicals include:

2-4-D Amine 4#
2-4-D LV ester 4#
Tordon 22K (Picloram) Restricted Use you must have a current Pesticide Applicators Certificate to purchase restricted use chemicals
Dicamba (Banvel)
Glyphosate (Roundup) (available for Johnsongrass after verification of Johnsongrass infestation by Noxious Weed Office only)